Romantic Interlude

I went into the Manchester Civil Art Gallery the other day and the one painting that transfixed me was this one of the Greek Legend Sappo – an 1877 painting by Charles-August Mengin (1853-1933).

…i bought the postcard and took it home for a quid – stuck it on the side of my peripheral vision on a box of unsold CD’s ..

I only just looked it up on the internet and the pictorial life of the character Sappo unfolded before me. I knew all the characters and the situations and the story felt like shoes and lives I had worn. Suddenly this simple postcard was like the wackiest tarot ever read out…

…. a romantic interlude in pictures…..I hate the ending though….but there’s no editing her story


drongomala

Leave a Reply

